Murray And Blakeman Announce East Franklin Square Library District Vote

Supervisor Kate Murray and Councilman Bruce Blakeman have announced that on March 24th the Hempstead Town Board passed a resolution which will provide residents of the East Franklin Square Library District an opportunity to vote in a special election to choose a host library for library services. The library district is comprised of residents of Franklin Square, Malverne and Valley Stream who reside in the East Franklin Square Library District.

“As the contract with Elmont Memorial Library, the current host library, will expire on December 31, 2015, New York State law requires that a special election be called to approve a new contract and an associated budget with a host library,” said Murray. 

The special election will occur on Tuesday, April 21, 2015 from 12:00 noon to 9 p.m. at regular polling stations, which are located at North High School in Franklin Square, Polk Street School in Franklin Square, Willow Road School in Franklin Square and Maurice Downing School in Malverne.  Only persons who are registered to vote with the Board of Elections and who live in the East Franklin Square Library District will be eligible to vote. Registered voters will receive notification by mail with details regarding the vote, including the proposed host library and the associated contract budget.

On April 21st, residents will have an opportunity to choose whether or not to have Elmont Memorial Library continue to provide library services. If approved, the Hempstead Town Board will award the host library a five-year contract and approve the associated budget for the contract.

“The approval of a library funding district for 2016 through 2020 will afford residents continuing access to borrowing privileges and all of the other library services and benefits that they have received since the library district was first established in 2003,” said Blakeman.

Absentee ballots are available from the Office of the Town Attorney by contacting Deputy Town Attorney Eugene Ferencik at (516) 489-5000, extension 3202. Any questions about the library referendum may be addressed to Councilman Bruce Blakeman’s office at (516) 812-3523.