Murray, Ambrosino and Blakeman Announce North Valley Stream Library District Vote

Supervisor Kate Murray and Councilmen Edward Ambrosino and Bruce Blakeman have announced that on March 24th the Hempstead Town Board passed a resolution which will provide residents of the North Valley Stream Library District an opportunity to vote in a special election to choose a host library for library services.  The library district is comprised of residents who live in certain areas of Elmont, Franklin Square and Valley Stream.

“As the contract with Elmont Memorial Library, the current host library, will expire on December 31, 2015, New York State law requires that a special election be called to approve a new contract and an associated budget with a host library,” said Murray. 

The special election will take place on Tuesday, May 5, 2015, from 12:00 noon to 9 p.m. Only persons who are registered to vote with the Board of Elections and who live in the North Valley Stream Library District will be eligible to vote. Registered voters will receive notification by mail with details regarding the vote, including their choice of participating libraries and the associated contract budget.

On May 5th, residents will have an opportunity to select their host library from a choice of two libraries:  Henry Waldinger Memorial Library or Elmont Memorial Library. Residents may only vote in favor of one host library. The Hempstead Town Board will then award a five-year contract with the library which receives the most votes from district residents. The selection of the host library will also approve the associated budget for the contract.

“We are committed to ensuring that residents continue to enjoy all of the educational, cultural and social benefits that go along with having full library services,” said Ambrosino.

Residents of the North Valley Stream Library District should vote at their regular polling stations which include the Howell Road School in Valley Stream, the Town of Hempstead Franklin Square Senior Center in Franklin Square, the James A. Dever School in North Valley Stream, the Dutch Broadway School in Elmont and the Alden Terrace School in Valley Stream.  

“The approval of a library funding district for 2016 through 2020 will afford residents continuing access to borrowing privileges and all of the other library services and benefits that they have received since the library district was first established in 2003,” said Blakeman.

Absentee ballots are available from the Office of the Town Attorney by contacting Deputy Town Attorney Eugene Ferencik at (516) 812-3202. Any questions about the library referendum may be addressed to Councilman Ambrosino’s office at (516) 812-3179 or Councilman Blakeman’s office at (516) 812-3523.