Hempstead Town’s Bravest Honored Exemplary Service and Life-Saving Rescues at 2015 Firematic Awards

Hempstead Town Supervisor Kate Murray and members of the Town Board tonight honored local volunteer first responders at Hempstead Town Hall’s Nathan L. H. Bennett Pavilion during the 2015 Firematic Awards Ceremony. Thirty-one individuals representing 18 fire departments were honored with Town of Hempstead Firematic Awards for exemplary service to their fellow neighbors and their communities.

“The annual firematic awards has always held a special place in my heart because it gives us a chance to pause and reflect on the amazing sacrifices that these brave members of our community make to protect their fellow neighbors,” Murray said. “Tonight, we honor some of the local heroes who put their lives on the line to serve their communities.”

Some of this year’s recipients were honored for heroic rescues and courageous deeds, while others were saluted for decades of services to their departments and their communities. A posthumous firematic award was presented in honor of Ex-Chief Joseph Sanford, Jr. of the Inwood Fire Department, a decorated member of the community who lost his life in the line of duty during a house fire in Woodmere last December.

The following individuals were awarded the Town’s Firematic Medal for their distinguished service as members of the volunteer fire service community: 


Baldwin Fire Department

Ex-Captain Fred Kopf


East Rockaway Fire Department

Ex-Captain Craig Gelb


Floral Park Fire Department
Honorary Chief Charles Matassa


Freeport Fire Department

Ex-Captain Steven Cooke


Garden City Fire Department
Firefighter David Tomlinson


Inwood Fire Department

Ex-Chief Joseph Sanford Jr. (Posthumous)


Island Park Fire Department

Firefighter/EMT Mahendra “Shiv” Hardwar


Lawrence-Cedarhurst Fire Department

Lieutenant Joseph McHugh


Levittown Fire Department

Firefighter Brandon Fourquet
Firemedic/EMT Lisa Fourquet
Firefighter Krystin Fourquet
Firefighter/EMT Elizabeth Hernandez
Probationary Firefighter Paul Parada
1st Deputy Chief Thomas Steinwall
3rd Deputy Chief Al Williams
Fire Police Captain Kenneth J. Zwerling


Lynbrook Fire Department

Ex-Chief William Donald


Meadowmere Park Fire Department
Firefighter William Murphy


Merrick Fire Department

1st Assistant Chief Thomas Gies


Mineola Fire Department

Firefighter Stephen McCarthy


North Merrick Fire Department

Firefighter Steven Mangual


Rockville Centre Fire Department

Honorary Chief Charles R. “Chuck” Joyce


Stewart Manor Fire Department
Assistant Chief Thomas Skinner


Wantagh Fire Department
Ex-Chief William Allen
Ex-Chief John Gillen
Ex-Chief George Krant
Ex-Chief Jeff Lindgren
Ex-Chief Bruce Sparke


Woodmere Fire Department
Lieutenant Ross Rieman
Liutenant Meir Shubowitz
EMT Shereen Torbati