Send to Printer

Hempstead Town Supervisor Santino Honors 55 First Responders During Hempstead Town’s 2016 Firematic Awards Ceremony

Parent Category: Town Hall
Category: Press Releases

Hempstead Town Supervisor Anthony J. Santino honored 55 first responders from across the township for their outstanding service during the Town of Hempstead’s 2016 Firematic Awards ceremony. The first responders represented 14 fire departments from throughout the Town of Hempstead during a ceremony held at the Nathan L. H. Bennett Pavilion at Hempstead Town Hall.

“Tonight, we honor some of the local heroes who put their lives on the line to serve their communities,” said Supervisor Santino.  “I am proud to present Hempstead Town’s bravest with our Firematic Award in recognition of their heroic and selfless acts.”

First responders from Baldwin, East Meadow, East Rockaway, Elmont, Inwood, Island Park, Lakeview, Lynbrook, Mineola, North Merrick, Rockville Centre, Stewart Manor, Uniondale, and Woodmere were recognized for exemplary service to their fellow neighbors and their communities.  Some were recognized for heroic rescues and courageous deeds, while others were saluted for decades of service to their respective departments and communities. 

“It is humbling to recognize these first responders for their bravery, heroism, dedication and commitment in serving and protecting this great township,” concluded Santino. “Thanks to their selflessness and dedication, Hempstead Town remains a safe community in which to live, work and raise a family.”

2016 Town of Hempstead Firematic Award Recipients

Baldwin Fire Department: Ex-Captain Thomas Ryley

East Meadow Fire DepartmentChief John McGee, Assistant Chief Philip Fertita, Fire Medic Alba Dougherty, Fire Medic Phyllis Sperr and Fire Medic Ashley Vecchione

East Rockaway Fire Department: Lieutenant James Monaco, Firefighter Andrew Ochtera, Ex-Chief Edward Reicherter

Elmont Fire Department: Captain Mike Santina

Inwood Fire Department:  1st Assistant Chief Anthony Rivelli Jr.

Island Park Fire Department:Ex-Captain Danny Cardineu, Island Park Ex-Captain Anthony Ciccimarro, Ex-Chief Robert Dexter Jr., Firefighter Matt Graci, Fire Medic Alan Greenfield, Firefighter Tayron Hardwar, Firefighter Ricky Holodar, Ex-Chief Edward Madden, 1st Assistant Chief James Miotto, Firefighter Stephen Nurnberger, Firefighter Ronald Nurnberger, Jr., Firefighter Luis Quilca, Ex-Captain Margarita Rodriguez, Firefighter Edward Schaefer, Firefighter Michael Spina, Ex-Captain Jenna Thilman, Probationary Firefighter CJ Vandermosten, Ex-Captain Charles Vandermosten, Ex-Captain Russell Waters, 2nd Assistant Chief Michael Whalen and Firefighter William Whaley 

Lakeview Fire Department: Ex-Chief Frederick Senti III

Lynbrook Fire Department/NCPD EMS:Chief John Chavatte, Lieutenant James DiGiambattisa, Captain Cory Hirsch and 3rd Deputy Chief Nicholas Pearsall of the Lynbrook Fire Department  Police Medic Larry Loiselle of the NCPD EMS

Mineola Fire Department: Honorary Captain Donald Franz

North Merrick Fire Department:Ex-Chief James Allen and Firefighter Robert Goohs

Rockville Centre Fire Department:Paramedic Christopher Bossart, Firefighter Patrick Corrigan, Lieutenant Andrew Hodges, EMT Pierre Hourani, Lieutenant Neil Kirschen, MD, Firefighter Daniel Navarino, Firefighter Edward Oppenheimer and Captain Kevin Creegan

Stewart Manor Fire Department: Ex-Captain John Powell

Uniondale Fire Department: Firefighter Martin Anderson, EMS Member Konica Devasser, Ex-Chief Darnell Eason, Ex-Chief John Skelly

Woodmere Fire Department:Firefighter Michael Sauer
Printed from TOH.LI - The Official Web Site of the Town of Hempstead